top of page

Twenty Counties Out Of Late Deer-Hunting Season

(Springfield, IL) -- The state is making a few changes to the upcoming deer hunting season. DNR Spokesman Chris Young says they're getting rid of the late-winter hunting season in 20-counties. The changes were made after a review of deer hunting harvest numbers in each county. Those counties that are keeping their population numbers at bay won't be included in the January hunting season. The DNR is also reducing the number of firearm permits that will be available in some areas. Statewide, there will be 11-thousand-300 fewer firearm permits available this season. Fulton, Peoria, Knox, Warren, McDonough and Schuyler counties all will continue to be open for late winter deer hunting seasons.

bottom of page