top of page

Twelve Counties Added To EAB Quarantine Zone

(Springfield, IL) -- The state agriculture department has added 12 counties to the quarantine list for the emerald ash borer. Seven of those mid-state counties have reported instances of trees being infested with the deadly green beetle that's slowly wiping out ash trees across the upper Midwest. The other five newly-listed counties border those seven. Sixty-one Illinois counties are now on the list, meaning wood can't be transported from those counties beyond the borders of the quarantine zone. The most recent counties added to the quarantine are Logan, Menard, Peoria, Perry, Sangamon, Tazewell, Williamson, Christian, Franklin, Fulton, Jefferson, and Mason.

bottom of page